Provlyssna
For the Benefit of Those Who See - Rosemary Mahoney

For the Benefit of Those Who See

For the Benefit of Those Who See

0.0 0 5 Författare: Rosemary Mahoney Inläsare: Rosemary Mahoney
Finns som ljudbok.
In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity.-Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree In the tradition of Oliver Sackss The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberkens international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the worlds blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world. Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.
Språk: Engelska Kategori: Biografier Översättare:

Mer info om ljudboken:

Förlag: Hachette Audio
Utgiven: 2014-01-14
Längd: 9T 27M
ISBN: 9781478925279
Kommentarer

Ha alltid en god bok på lut – lyssna och läs på dina egna villkor

Läs och lyssna på så många böcker du orkar! Ladda ner böcker offline, ha flera på gång samtidigt, välj sagor till barnen eller prova en bok du inte visste att du ville höra. Helt enkelt den bästa digitala bokupplevelsen du kan få.
Prova fritt i 14 dagar